HELP! Shin splints

NDHunter

Lil-Rokslider
So in January, I decided to sign up for a half marathon on the hope that I'd draw an elk tag this fall and that way I'd be in good shape. Well I drew the tag which is good but the race is this Sunday and now I've got shin splints. I haven't run in the last 10 days and have been icing them daily and taking ibuprofen. Is there anything else I should be doing these last 5 days? This will be my first half marathon so I'm new to running and such. I'm not going to be too pleased though to train for over 4 months and then not be able to run! If anyone has any advice, please share!

BigSurArcher

Banned
Ouch. I used to get them when I was playing football. You might try finding a trainer to give you a shin tape job soon, and go for a fun and see how it works. It worked for me, but didn't for others. If it works, you should stay away from running until the big day and do it with the tape job. If you need to do more cardio up until then, maybe try rowing or swimming. It's a tough situation though. On the other hand, it could be something as simple as getting a new pair of shoes or insoles. When I started cycling real heavy my shin splints went away, probably because I got these big muscles built up on the outside of my shins.. Now I can run fine!

hflier

WKR
Classified Approved
I had these in the Army and they are a bitch. You have to let them heal. It usually helps to take breaks in your training every 2-3 weeks during the time you are ramping up. This will help prevent them. But once you have them you have to let them heal and then start to train again taking it wasy the first few days. Usually once you are over them, they dont come back. It is an early (in your program) over training symptom.

dcestnik

Lil-Rokslider
Got a terrible case of these in college. Avoid repetitive stress, use dixie cups filled with ice to rub your shins and work your toes to your knees. We had a tib bar that helped but you could duck walk too.

sk1