First Custom Build

RHoyland4

FNG
I am new to Rokslide and am looking to build my first custom bolt gun. I have built multiple AR platforms in the past. I do not have any machining capabilities so am looking to use a prefit barrel.

I am looking to use a Defiance action but cannot decide between the Classic, Renegade or Anti. I am leaning towards the Renegade, but cannot find a weight on it. Does anyone know what the weight is?

The remainder of the build is:

Proof 20" or 22" 7mm PRC
Manners MCS-PH
Hawkins M5 DBM
Timney or Trigger Tech
Zeis V6 5-30x50

I am looking to take some long range shooting classes but also use it to elk, mule deer and aoudad sheep hunt.

Any suggestions or things to watch out for since this is my first build?

Zeis V6 5-30x50
I don't want to sound too direct about it but since this is the long range hunting section of the forum, get a first focal plane scope. I think the biggest thing that sticks out to me with your build is you chose a second focal plane optic. If you planned to buy it at its roughly $2,300 price, there are extremely nice first focal plane options which will suit your purposes better.*

*Assuming you will be using this for long range, since this is the long range section of the forum.

Edit: Also get the FFP scope in MIL, not MOA. As much as some people who don't understand how scopes work will tell you "I think in inches", it is not a compelling argument. Oh and you don't need that much magnification in a hunting scope. Probably don't need anything over 16-20 power.

Last edited:

Bojangles21

Lil-Rokslider