Field processing: cut deer in half?

RCB

WKR
I'm fairly new to hunting (about 5 years). I hunt out west in public land. For most of my kills, I am skinning, gutting, and parting the animal into large cuts (4 legs + all the boneless cuts: loins, rib meat, neck, organs, etc.) and backpacking them out. This all works well and I'm happy enough with it, but I seem to find that...
(1) Inevitably some amount dirt/dust/mud/etc get onto the meat
(2) Skinning the the field can be a bit awkward and probably leads to more hair on the meat than if I could work on a bench or hang the animal
(3) It just seems that every cut in the field necessarily leads to more surface area on the meat. More surface area -> more potential exposure to dirt, hair etc. Also just more exposure to oxidation, which leads to drying out, turning the meat brown, etc, which I then usually trim off, so more loss overall. For example, typically by the time I get home and start butchering, a lot of the rib / flank meat that I removed just doesn't look very appetizing anymore.

So, I find myself wondering the following: How can I minimize the amount of work I have to do in the field, in the dirt/mud/snow? Basically, try to expose as little of the meat as possible, and get it back to the truck. Can process more on the truck tailgate if needed, else at home. Dragging it out whole would be ideal, I suppose, but it's usually not a good option given distance and terrain.

A thought occurred to me for "two-trip" animals (e.g., for me, most deer): what if I just gut the animal, leave the hide on, remove the legs below the shanks, and then cut the animal in half. Basically, find a spot along the spine that appears to divide the animal 50-50 by weight, cut along the rib and saw through the spine. Then carry out the two halves.

Potential disadvantages would be (1) awkward load shapes and (2) more weight overall as I would now be carrying spine, ribs, and hide.