Elmax vs s90 vs M4

Okay steel geeks let’s hear your take on some of these blade materials. I did not like my only s90v knife. I’m fact, it’s the only knife I have sold. I do have an elmax blade and like it. I don’t think I gave Elmax enough of a try before I moved on. I may need to revisit that knife. I have no experience with M4.

OP
C
I had an Altitude. By far the worst knife I have ever taken into the field. EDC or field work is the same to me. I may use the knife in my pocket in the field. I’m not cutting wood but skinning and processing is always possible.

sndmn11

WKR
@feanor (above) has cut me some s90v blanks and some m4 blanks, and I have commercial knives in both steels as well. I have never played with elmax and nothin about it attracts me.

I like the what m4 and similar attribute steels being to the table. I also really like s90v.

It might be more helpful to understand what you are wanting to do, what you didn't like about s90v, and what is valuable to you.

OP
C
I used the alititude on a moose hunt. I could get about 18 to 24” of a cut (mostly up the leg) before it went completely dull. I mean totally useless. I sharpened it back to acceptable sharpness and then went through the same disappointment on three moose. I got about 3/4 of a deer with the same knife. Elmax, easily did an elk with touch up after.
Before we get all cra cra. I ended up finishing each moose with two blades each on a havalon.
I’m really just interested in the compare and contrast of each material. Pros and cons. I could try another s90v if it’s that much better or look at M4 and elmax.

feanor

WKR
I wonder if you got a bad batch on the heat treat or something. I’ve had great edge retention on animals with s90v. I think m4 would be great unless you have it out in weather. I haven’t used elmax. I would say zipping up a leg and having it go dull on you would be an outlier for that stew though.

Trr15

WKR