Coming Down from the High...What's it like for YOU?

Mule

FNG
I've been doing this backcountry hunt thing for about 5 years now. I'm in my young 50's, decent shape apart from the bang-ups and dinks incurred in regular life. I live at roughly 700' above sea level, and train well for most of the year leading into my 8-10 days of elk hunting at 11,000' +/-; like most do I suppose by lifting for tone, and a little bit for strength, but mainly run stairs for cardio and endurance...lots of stairs!

It's a notable trend for me, regardless of whether I use horses to get up and down, or if I hike/backpack in and out. I've never been less than 5 miles from a trailhead, mostly it's 8-13 miles. When I'm on the hunt, my adrenaline is surging, I'm on my game, I'm supplementing with practically the entire alphabet. I may lose a toenail or pull a muscle here and there, but I'm otherwise pretty fit when I'm high up there.

Within a couple days of coming down, usually a day or so after I get home, I am WIPED out, regardless of any post-hunt supplementation. I'm lethargic, almost depressed, but not quite "I wanna kill myself" depressed...just vegetative. I'm achy, I move like a snail. I'm a slug without the slime. It's the part of my elk hunting that I have come to dread, and it makes me second think whether I want to do it again...and again. Honestly, I've never been a drug user, but I can only imagine this is like being on some sort of methamphetamine that makes you run hard for a week+ and then I come down hard and fast and am in withdrawals for about two and a half weeks before I find my normal. Am I the only one? Surely not. I love it/I hate it!

What's it like for you? How you do recover? How long does it take for you to find your normal? I honestly don't know how these guys like BRO, Rinella, Hushin, Snyder & Gritty do the back to back to back hunts they do without wanting to kill themselves...

Stid2677

WKR