Budget action

171farm

Lil-Rokslider
Looking to do my first rifle build and trying to keep the price as low as possible. Of the $1,000 or below action what is your favorite and why? Im not looking to build some super light weight gun, but also am not looking for a boat anchor either. These actions hit the price point Im looking to spend. Am I missing any others? Is there something thats just a smidge over $900-1,000 I should consider? If so why? Please justify. I can afford more but should I? Will I gain much by spending more?

-Bat Igniter LA
-Defiance Classic LA
-Mack Brothers EVO II LA

low2497

FNG
Take this with a grain of salt, as I have no experience with custom actions. The Aero Precision Solus has caught my attention and finally has me starting to consider piecing together a custom rifle. You may want to look into it. Would love to hear if any members here have spent some time with one.

Currently on sale for $650 at Primary Arms.

hereinaz

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
Origin and Coup de Grace are go to budget actions. There are some by Defiance I think as well. They hold their value.

If you go more budget, you should just consider a high quality factory like Seekins to Tikka and some Bergara.

There are others like Solus and Mack bros, but they are like nice+ factory actions, having more warts, being sold as custom, based on reviews I have seen. Probably nothing to sneeze at, but not considered the same by the market right now.

All depends on what you want to do.

Do you want a nice budget rifle?
Or, do you want a budget custom rifle?
Also, do you want prefits, Rem 700 platform, stock options, control round feed, 90 or less bolt throw, two or three lug, resale value, etc?

Hope this gets you into the right decision process to decide. What do you prioritize highest to lowest?

hereinaz

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
Will add some more, to give more context. Manufacturing ability has blurred the line between “factory” and “custom”.