Beef and pork fat sources

I’ve been processing my own game for many years and have use Beef fat, pork fat and Wright brand bacon ends and pieces over the years to add to game meat for burger or sausages.

I’ve struggled to find reliable sources for beef fat. Pork is easier to find and often it is out with the other cellophane wrapped meats at the Mexican grocery chain stores and this is what I use for sausages. I’ve had inconsistent luck asking butchers for beef fat and when all else fails the weight brand bacon ends and prices sold in 3lb pack at Walmart makes for tasty burger patties, but makes for a less flexible product. Doesn’t work well in tacos or spaghetti sauce, but is good in meatloaf.

That said, today I got 4lbs of pork fat for .99/lb and 11lbs of beef fat for 1.99/lb from a small local Mexican meat market. I went in yesterday and they were in the act of trimming pork so I got that and he told me to come back tomorrow at noon and he’d have the beef fat for me. I asked for 10lbs and he had 11 wrapped and ready. This seems like a good option moving forward. And here in Texas the Mexican markets still do more butchering the old ways and have some interesting products at the meat counter.

So who, what, where, and when are y’all getting fat?

* I know many people don’t add fat, but that’s not what this thread is about so keep the “why would I adulterate my pure, wild, grass fed, organic elk meat with artery clogging beef fat” comments to yourselves. *

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

WildBoose

FNG
I call a local butcher shop and get "put on the list". Usually takes them about a week to get me 30lbs of beef fat, which with my ratio makes 200lbs of deer burger. I think I paid $2.49 per lb a couple weeks ago.

Fatcamp

WKR
Last year I watched our local store butcher hand an old guy a big wrap of beef fat. Got to talking and have kore than I can use.

bsnedeker

WKR