Are Colorado GMUS worth it for 1st rifle elk?

Never been on an elk hunt, but have hunted mulies in Colorado. Applied and had PP for my 1st choice and typed random codes for 2nd, 3rd, and 4th choice. What are the odds I end up drawing… but me drawing 2nd choice with 0 PP worries me on the quality of the unit that time of year. But beside the hunt code in the game book it says (NEW) so I’m stumped. would be public DIY. Worth it or should I return?

11boo

WKR
Never been on an elk hunt, but have hunted mulies in Colorado. Applied and had PP for my 1st choice and typed random codes for 2nd, 3rd, and 4th choice. What are the odds I end up drawing… but me drawing 2nd choice with 0 PP worries me on the quality of the unit that time of year. But beside the hunt code in the game book it says (NEW) so I’m stumped. would be public DIY. Worth it or should I return?

That is an unusual strategy. Good luck dude.

OP
dwhite3616
You just apply for the PP then.
Sorry newbie here for out west. I can’t remember exactly, but the way I remember applying a couple months back I typed hunt code for PP for first choice, but had to type in other codes for 2nd, 3rd, and 4th?

OP
dwhite3616
If all you wanted was a point, the point code would be your first choice, and you shouldn’t have put anything for choice 2,3,4.
Gotcha. Seems I remember it not letting me skip out on 2 3 and 4 but probably misremembering. Thanks, now I know for next year.

EJFS

Lil-Rokslider
Is it worth it? Weird question, of course it is. Look at a map, Google Earth, etc, pick a spot and go hunt

omicron1792

Lil-Rokslider
So I did the same and actually drew my third choice (points only as first choice) first rifle either sex in unit **. So any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by a moderator:

Scoot

WKR