Colorado 1st or 3rd Rifle - Opinions Needed

Fellas,

Need some guidance on picking a season to hunt elk for this year.

Background:
I’m a Colorado resident going on his 4th year of elk hunting. Been unsuccessful every year. First 2 years I did first rifle in the Grand Mesa Units and Meeker. Then I tried archery OTC near Montrose (I didn’t think anything could be more crowded than Meeker 1st Rifle but I was wrong 😳). I’ve decided that I need to stop hopping around units and stick with a certain season to better understand where the elk are and how they move and hopefully build on success that way. I currently have a 1st rifle tag that’s very easy to get (generally over 1k tags leftover after the draw every year) and my work is asking me to see if I can push off my hunt until around 3rd rifle.

After doing some research on 3rd rifle, it seems to be a good option. Generally colder weather so the elk should be moving more, longer season (except for this year due to winter kill) and hopefully less crowded than 1st rifle since non-residents are normally back home hunting white tails.

Is the only real advantage for 1st rifle the fact that you are the first ones to really start pressuring the elk with rifles?

If any of y’all could provide guidance on which season you prefer and why, I’d greatly appreciate it. I called CPW and they told me I could swap tags prior to 1st rifle season starting so I’d like to let my work know soon on which direction I’m going.

Thanks y’all!

I prefer the later seasons, as I seem to have the woods and elk to myself after that first weekend. The colder the better and please let there be snow. I don’t mind first rifle and will gladly take it if I got a tag, but it is not as successful for me as the later seasons. Plus I don’t have to pay an extra $9 to hunt the same animal.

OP
Fever Buck