Am I Throwing Away $150 Per Year On Wyoming Sheep?

I currently have 9 points for sheep in Wyoming I’m a non resident and am age 35. According to the research I’ve done here are some numbers:
-There is over 4,200 non residents with the same or more points than me.
-40 tags were given to non residents with the most points who applied for a specific unit(preference point draw)
-Only 4! Tags were given to non residents in the random pool(of which I’m a part of)
- If current trends hold true, assuming no one drops out of buying points, there is a backlog of about 100 years worth of sheep tags (4,200/40)
So I guess my question is am I stupid to continuing to buy a sheep point in Wyoming every year? I’m already paying $70 a year to be in the random draw in Wyoming for sheep and the odds are terrible for the unit I put in for as it’s one of the only that can be drawn and hunted in the “random” draw without hiring a guide (The odds for that last year were 1 in 979!). Sorry for the long post but I’m pretty sure I’m drawing dead and throwing away $150 every year with 0% chance of ever being in the preference point draw for sheep. Am I wrong for throwing in the towel now and using that money for raffle ticket, saving for a sheep hunt in Canada/Alaska or wiping my rear end with? Thanks

Chad E

WKR
Unless the system changes which they do at times, you wont ever make it to the preference part of the draw considering all the point holders ahead of you and the extremely low tag numbers.

OP
BeaverHunter
Unless the system changes which they do at times, you wont ever make it to the preference part of the draw considering all the point holders ahead of you and the extremely low tag numbers.
Yea. That’s what I’m discovering after my research also.

Jimss

WKR