6.8 Western

Jjustus16

FNG
Anyone have experience with the 6.8 western? I’m looking at using it as an elk gun and have been pointed in this direction d/t the similar ballistics with a 7 mag and much more manageable recoil.

I was looking at a X-Bolt hell’s canyon, but recently ran across Winchester’s XPR’s. The XPR’s are significantly cheaper so I’m curious as to how much performance and reliability you are losing.

I’m also open to suggestions. I’m hearing from guys at work that these new PRC rounds (7 PRC mainly) are all the hype.
I don’t think I’d be interested in anything like a 300 PRC because of the felt recoil affecting my shot placement. A well placed 270 is enough to down a bull, so no need for hyper-overkill, right?

I have some experience on rifle shooting (mostly 556 in the military, 308, 300 BLK, 7 mag and 300 win mag.) Though I will admit, I am not too fond of the 300 win mag.

Any and all input is appreciated!

wnelson14

WKR
Multiple threads about the 6.8 on here and a review on the front page. Seems like an awesome round and readily available in certain places

Lou270

Lil-Rokslider
Have a 6.8W and very happy. Mine is a rebarreled M70 WSM. The recoil to me is pretty mild. I would say in ball park of 30-06 shooting 180s. Accuracy with factory loads - the 165 ablr and 175 tgk, has been outstanding. Shot through both shoulders of large boar with 175 tgk and got exit which is not something typically get with anything but monos so that is stout bullet. For ex a 160 accubond out of 280 did not exit on similar shot week earlier. 6.8W sits between 6.5prc and 7prc recoil and power wise though both 6.5prc and 6.8W are shorter actions if that matters. Cant go wrong with any I expect just pick which power/recoil you want

No experience with XPR though build quality on it looks better to me on similar priced stuff I have handled in stores (ruger american, etc).

Lou

gerry35

WKR