270 vs 7mm-08 vs 308 vs 30/06

rabbithuntr

Lil-Rokslider
On a semi-related issue, at what barrel length does the 6.5 Creedmoor cease to gain much speed from additional length?
Bought 24 inch barreled Savage 110 for lady friend thinking that would be optimal length to hold some speed.
Already had plenty of 20 inch barreled youth 243, 308 and 7mm-08 for tight stands.

I have a 19” barrel and wish it were shorter but that is with a suppressor. I agree with your statement about energy but comparing bullets of similar weight and construction there is no way I can see a vast difference in performance.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

rkcdvm

Lil-Rokslider
400 and in I would pick the 7/08 all day. I love that round so much. For the 600 yard shot I think I would have to pick the 270. I've shot my 7/08 out to 800 but it definitely gets bucked by the wind . Once I started shooting longer distances I switched to a 300 win mag and a 28 nosler. Both are great and there are a lot of other great rounds out there too. If my 7/08 didn't weigh a ton I would take it elk hunting. I've only had one time that I even had a shot opportunity past 300 yards and that was my elk last year at 540.

Leaf Litter

Lil-Rokslider
Actually by 600 yards the 6.5 creed with 147 has less drift and more energy.

The velocity and energy numbers at 600 yards are nearly the same, with the creed having a slight edge. Both maintain expansion velocity. The 270 has significantly less drop and a bit more wind drift. Even worse when you factor in that the 147gr creed doesn't overtake the 270 in velocity or energy until ~550 yards. Plus the 147 is a match bullet. Replace it with a 143 ELDX (the more logical comparison for anyone not attempting to cherry pick) and the creedmoor is significantly inferior to the 270 in any metric other than .3" of wind drift.