Wildly inconsistent shots r700 .308

J.flanagan

Lil-Rokslider
I just came back from a very disappointing range day. I'm a pretty good shot, not amazing but I can regularly throw down half dollar and quarter size groups at 100yds.

Not today though. I just mounted a trijicon credo. Used Leupod mark 4 mount and rings. I was hoping to zero it in but couldn't get a group smaller than gallon paint can lid. 6 inches or so.

Can I just assume it's the glass or should I mount my old scope and try again? Other than shooter error, what could stop me from making any good groups at 100yds?

OP
J

J.flanagan

Lil-Rokslider
I'm not an expert but that looks a bit rough in my opinion. Is that a problem?

Rob5589

WKR
Did this particular gun shoot quarter sized groups? If so and the only change was scope and rings, that is the obvious culprit. Pull and check torque of base/s, check ring torque before pulling scope.

If it’s been shot a lot and all of a sudden lost accuracy could be a carbon ring. They don’t take long to develop in some circumstances. I’ve had a 243 see your drastic change in groups and a 6.5 Grendel that went from solid .5” up to ugly 1.5-2” groups. 20-30 shots of experimenting loads later I realized I had 350 rounds since the last cleaning and had recently shot 2 different kinds of factory ammo compared to my normal loaded ammo.
Good cleaning, CLR and some JB. First 3 post cleaning shots were right back to what I expect based on 1000 prior rounds or so.

I’ll be highly criticized for suggesting cleaning but my experiences have shown me that some rifle/cartridge/load combos cannot be shot forever without cleaning

ElPollo

WKR
Man, if not cleaning my smokeless firearms would result in 6” groups, then all my rifles should pattern like a goose gun. I would recheck your scope mounts and action bolts first. Then I would try switching scopes. 6” makes it sound like something is loose.