Which Binos???

Snipershirt

Lil-Rokslider
Looking at upgrading my binos for next season...I know for most, hunting season is just getting underway however I only have one hunt left for this year and then the darkness will be here. I've been using the same set of leupold cascades since 2003 and they've done a great job and are still in good shape considering the adventures they've been on. Most of my hunting involves packing in a few miles so weight is somewhat of an issue. Looking at leaving the spotter at home more and relying mainly on my binos. My budget cap is $1200 however I'm all about spending less. Recommendations please?

Thanks!

$

blb078

WKR
Razor HD 12x50 would prob work for you if you don't want to use a spotter, might need a tripod for them. They're right around your budget I believe. Can also look at Zeiss Conquest HD 10x42, can get them for just under a grand I think. I've looked through both of them in 8x and went w/the Zeiss, love them.

boom

WKR
my 10x50's feel big and heavy at times.

i'd go 10x42 on the next go around. for $1200, i get Razor 10x42..or used Swarvos..i see them for sale all the time.

Daniel_M

WKR
A few weeks back I had a chance to glass with Lukes' Vortex 10x50's in the field and compare against my Swaro 10x42 SLC HD's. To say the least I was very, very impressed with the quality, clarity and low light gathering ability. Luke was picking out game in the hills that the rest of us had to really eyeball.

If my memory servers they were the Viper 10x50's.

For most hunting applications here in Alaska, a good set of bino's will serve well without the need for a spotting scope unless your going after sheep and counting rings. Or if your moose hunting requires definitive judging from a long distance. Other than that, I'd dump the coin into a quality set of bino's and welcome the addition of a spotter later. That's the route I'm in and will spend the next several months reading and getting more scope time before deciding.