Which Benelli M2 12 Gauge for do all shotgun?

Looking for one gun for dove, quail, rabbit, snipe, rails, waterfowl, and turkey. Waterfowl will be the least percentage of use. Dove and turkey the most use.

Loving the M2 and favor 26" barrel. Can't see major differences between M2 hunting variations. Anything special I should look for for this application?

Last edited:
Yep- all the M2 Field models are the same gun with variable barrel lengths and finishes. I've been using one hard since 2006, a plain vanilla one with a 26" barrel. I later added an 18" barrel with rifle sights for home defense type use. Oddly, after a lot of hunting, I wish I'd have opted for the 28" barrel.

I've hunted all manner of birds and small game with it. It's very hard to go wrong with a M2. Parts and barrels are pretty expensive compared to Remington stuff, but the quality is certainly a step up.

Thanks for the info hodgeman. I've seen several threads where owners talk about how reliable these guns are. Since black synthetic is about the same price as camo, I think I'll just grab a new camo model.

Best to you,
Islander

I have a M2 in a 26". You metioned using it for turkey, if you hunt thicker areas I'd go no longer than 26", remember for turkeys you will probablyl end up with an extended tube as well so it's that much longer. Even then you will catch it on every twig and limb in the woods. I wish mine was a 24".

If your'e not dead set on the crio and recoil garb..... once in a while a Benelli M1 H&K will pop up ANIB or NIB for reasonable and in my experience they were far more durable than the next generation (M2/SBE2) having owned multiple variations in both.