which 2.5x15 scope? Or better ideas.

Bluesky

FNG
I have a fairly strict budget of up to $700. It sucks to be indecisive and on a budget... I get hung up looking for a unicorn.

I am looking for a scope. I have very little experience long range shooting/hunting but I do intend to get proficient at it. I am shooting a 6.5 PRC and would love to use it to it's potential! Main use would be Western and Alaska hunting.

My only real experience is with low end Nikon Prostaff BDC 3x9 and 2.5x12 (neither on the 6.5). They have both been effective at killing animals. and shows my standards are quite low.

I like the magnification range of 2.5x15 and if I keep my searching to that option I can find some deals, as soon as I open it up to 3x18, the options are too many and overwhelming.

I think I have narrowed it down: I'd like to go with MOA and FFP (mostly because the wisdom on here leans more toward FFP) but could be convinced otherwise.

In no particular order:
Athlon Ares BTR
Trijicon Credo (SFP)
Bushnell forge
Meopta Optika 6 (SFP)
Hawke sport Optics Frontier 30 (SFP)

Any other ideas or any stand out way above the others?
How would you rate the ones I have listed?

Swfa 3-15 if you have to have 15x, otherwise the 3-9 or 6x. They're all within your budget and work well.

Eurooptic might have a trijicon credo or tenmile in your budget, of the stuff you listed that's the best choice by far.

This subforum has a ton of useful scope performance info: https://rokslide.com/forums/forums/rifle-scope-field-evaluations.133/

This post and thread had a long mil vs moa debate, my preference is mils:
Post in thread 'Is there an advantage to mil over MOA?' https://rokslide.com/forums/threads/is-there-an-advantage-to-mil-over-moa.295873/post-2923037

OP
Bluesky

Bluesky

FNG
Thanks for the links! I would consider the swfa if I could ever find one for sale.

BLJ

WKR