URGENT: Calling all diesel mechanics

Hey guys, need some help tonight. We got 6-8" of snow today and I finally got out to start pushing it around with my 2004 Kubota B2410 (3 cylinder diesel). For some reason, about 30 minutes in she started losing power and bogging down for no good reason. I have fresh fuel (diesel 2 from yesterday) she's full of oil and the air filter is fine (I blew it out for good measure). She idles and purs like a kitten, but when getting under any kind of load she starts to stall. It's a hydrostat and I've owned her for almost 15 years. This is the first time this has ever happened. The only thing I can really think may be causing issues is the inline fuel filter, as its been at least a couple years since I replaced it.

I appreciate any other ideas and thank you in advance.

Robobiss

FNG
I’m no mechanic, but I would for sure change that fuel filter. Look for signs of gelling while you are at it. If that’s going on, and the fuel in the tank looks like shit, you may be better off draining/siphoning off what you can before refilling, throw an appropriate amount of Diesel 911 in the fuel tank for good measure (red bottle).

Diesels are really simple. In this case either you aren’t getting fuel (or you’re getting shitty watery icy fuel) or you aren’t getting compression. If it’s the 2nd option you’re in trouble. But it’s very likely a fuel issue.

Change that fuel filter and clean the fuel system up before you end up having to throw injectors at it.

Change all the fuel filters (it may have more than one, a primary water filter, a fuel filter, and perhaps even a screen in the tank) and report back. If that doesn’t fix it I’d be looking at water in the fuel next and then a fuel pump as a third less likely option.

OP
jjohnsonElknewbie