Traditional hunting bow set up costs?

I have been shooting and hunting with compounds for the past 15+ years and am kind of getting burned out on maintaining the equipment. Every year I am replacing strings or correcting cam lean or replacing rests and sights and yadda yadda yadda.

Am I wrong to think I could eliminate the equipment frustrations by going the traditional route? Obviously the threshold for proficiency is much higher on traditional than compound but I just enjoy shooting more than tinkering with my bow.

If there is any truth in my assumption, how much would I need to spend to get a longbow setup capable of taking whitetail?

There is definitely less of the compound type maintenance. I have some bows that have been on the shelf for years, and I have no doubt that if I grabbed them and an arrow that is tuned for it, it would outshoot my ability.

The sky is the limit on costs. There are options that could get you into a bow capable of hunting with in the sub 400 dollar range easily, and options that could take you to over 2000.

Check out lancaster archery or 3 rivers archery for a wide selection of bows. Any half way decent quality bow above 40 pounds will kill you a whitetail easily. Just make sure your arrows are properly tuned to the bow with a sharp two blade head and you are set.

My wife has killed several elk, including a 380 monster bull, with a 45 pound recurve and only a 26" draw. Don't think you need a 70 pound bow to get it done on whitetails.

Beendare

WKR
$300…

Lots of good cheap options. The best strategy is to buy a cheap light bow to start…then while you are working up in weight and dialing in your form…..you try the different styles to see what you want to hunt with.

The problem with Trad is, ‘ you don’t know what you don’t know.‘