Tapeworm Cysts in Mule Deer Muscle/Backstraps?

Smoke10

FNG
I shot a mule deer on Sunday and today I started processing the meat. I believe I found (2) tapeworm cysts in the backstraps and (1) in one of the hindquarters so far. They are round/spherical, about the size of a mustard seed, and white in color.

They are not rice shaped, so I don't believe it is sarcocystis.

Reasearching the internet, it looks like Alaska and Idaho game and fish have publications saying tapeworm cysts are not harmful to humans but the meat needs to be cooked well done.

Has anyone else found tapeworm cysts in the deer/elk they have harvested?

I grew up processing the whitetails my family harvested. My dad had me helping him butcher deer well before I could hunt myself. I've got close to 20 years of experience processing wild game between helping my dad and processing my own deer and elk, but I've never experienced anything like this till now.

20221122_193016.jpg

20221122_193008.jpg

20221122_202957.jpg

I have significantly more experience processing game than you, as in a few more decades, and I have never come across tapeworms. I simply would not take chances with tapeworms; they need to be cooked to death, thus the recommendation to cook the meat till well done. I hate well done meat. I would likely grind it all and cook it well done, or give it to someone that wants it and cooks it well done.

OP
S

Smoke10

FNG
I didn't know they could get into the muscle like this. I also do not like meat that is cooked well done.

Here is another one I just found

20221122_215707.jpg

Bambistew

WKR
Almost every moose and caribou I've shot here in AK had them, sime more than others. I cant think of a sheep that had any. Freezing for a week kills them. I still only cook my meat to 130 internal. I will pick them out if I see them but don't worry about them otherwise. The fish we eat both salmon and halibut has way more worms. Some are just loaded. Handfuls in the guts. 😝