Suppressor legality question

TRIPLE

Lil-Rokslider
About a month ago I had open heart surgery, and after a few conversations/arguments with my surgeon, we decided I will do a little hunting this fall. I’ve sacrificed most of my hunts, but I do have a couple antelope tags and an Idaho deer tag.

His concern is shooting a rifle too soon while my sternum is still healing. My first hunt is six weeks after surgery, and I assured him I have a very low recoil rifle. My best option is my 6.5 creedmore with a suppressor. Without going overboard with research, does anyone know the legalities of hunting big game in Idaho, Wyoming, and Montana with a suppressed rifle?

pew

Lil-Rokslider
I’m not a lawyer, but to my understanding you have to ask two questions:
1. Can I hunt with a suppressor
AND
2. Can I cross state lines with my suppressor, and if so, do I need to notify anyone of this (and who)?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ericF

WKR
I’m not a lawyer, but to my understanding you have to ask two questions:
1. Can I hunt with a suppressor
AND
2. Can I cross state lines with my suppressor, and if so, do I need to notify anyone of this (and who)?

As to question 2, supressors are not regulated like SBRs (short barreled rifles) in that aspect. Anytime you take an SBR out of state you must have a "permission slip" from the ATF on where you are taking it. There is no federal notification requirement for supressors. I am also unaware of any states that require notification for suppressors.

pew

Lil-Rokslider