Stress the silent killer, how to minimize

Billinsd

WKR
I'm 60 and want to live longer and healthier. I've had an incredibly stressful life and lots of traumatic experiences, lately my 19 year old daughter!!! LOL

Us Baby Boomers have gone through a lot. How many boomers haven't had a traumatic life? Right?

Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction works best for me. However, I fall off the wagon.

Hunting of course is good therapy, but I get too intense about it. That's changing. My wife and friends tell me to retire, but I want to go another 2.5 years for the money.

What do you fellow high strung, A personalities do to chill out?

Loper

WKR
I’m not an expert on reducing stress, but I know for me, daily exercise really helps. Exercise is my release and if I skip a day, my body knows it. Without exercise I have a hard time falling asleep or I wake up in the middle of the night and can’t fall back asleep, which only increases stress.

After a long healthy life at 58 I had a series of life threatening health issues. After a long recovery Doc said limit stress. I work in a high stress occupation. Prior to my illnesses I couldn't wait to retire. If fact I was overdoing it to make that happen.

I am fortunate in that I am at a point were I can pick and choose my clients and projects I care to work with. After my recovery I started doing so. I’m a month from 61 and really loving my work. I cant image retiring now.

It wasn't the job that was causing my stress it was the idea I had that I had to take on every client and project that came my way. I got rid of all my hard to get along with clients and I don't take projects that I‘m not excited about.

On a personal financial level I dont get myself in any debt and I live within my means on the money I can make from the amount of work I am willing to do.

I steer clear of people with drama or people who like to cause others grief or stress. I spend time with people who are happy and have a good positive attitude.