Stiff or flexible boots: what do you prefer?

RCB

WKR
I’m curious about what hunters here think about ideal shoe/boot sole stiffness for hunting. Obviously the choice depends on the situation (what kind of terrain, season, activity), but the general opinion around here seems to be a preference for greater stiffness than I'm used to. I tend to lean the other way, but I thought I'd open the discussion.

I’m new to hunting (started last year), but have been hiking and backpacking for since I was a kid. As far as I know, the trend in the backpacking world has been toward “lighter is better”. Less boot, more shoe. This is understandable since (1) lots of backpackers carry light loads relative to hunters and (2) relative to hunters, they are usually on-trail. Would seem that with heavy loads and rough terrain, a tougher boot would be useful.

Consider my two outdoor shoes right now: Merrell Moabs and Lowa Caminos.

The Moab is very much a hiking shoe - wouldn't even call it a boot. You can take a brand new pair of those shoes and easily bend the sole nearly in half with your bare hands. Stiffer than running shoes, but not *stiff*. I did my mule deer and elk hunts in those shoes last year, packing out both on my back, and had no problem. Granted I wasn't carrying super heavy loads on scree fields or anything, but I think they would have been fine if so.