Repair Old Bow or Buy New Bow

JSC2626

FNG
Well, I dry fired my Matthews Outback Friday night. I made the mistake of talking on the phone while shooting and got distracted. Next thing you know I forgot to nock and arrow and shot. I know at a minimum I am going to be replacing the string and cables. I think I will be need a cam replacement as well. There may be other issues that I am not experienced enough to see. With that said, if it is only a couple hundred dollars, I would likely pay to fix it. If it is more than $300, I am leaning towards buying something newer, but would not be buying a flagship bow. I am just not sure that I want to spend over $200 - $300 on a 15ish year old bow. I would need to stick around the $500 or less range. I can strip the Matthews for parts so I would not have to immediately buy a sight, rest, etc. and do not have to buy a RTH package.

With all that said, are there any bows you all can recommend? I have very little bow experience as that Matthews was bought used for $400 to see if I enjoyed archery or not. I have been shooting a good bit and definitely am in it for the long run now, but am not committed to any particular brand. So far, some options I have seen in my price range are:
- Bear Archery - Almost all of the Bear bows at my local Bass Pro are within price range (looking more at the Adapt bare bow option)
- PSE Stinger ATK
- Diamond Edge Max, Edge XT, and Infinite 305
- Used bows and local bow shop - May or may not have good options
- Mission MXR (looks like these are normally about $600 but I could probably make that work)

What other brands/models should I look into? My local shop carries Matthews, Hoyt, BowTech, PSE, and Mission and I have a Bass Pro nearby.

knale87

Lil-Rokslider
I’d buy a new (used) bow. A lot of good deals can be found a 2-3 year old bare bow on here or archery talk.