Quick question about broad head tuning

rkcdvm

Lil-Rokslider
Was going to attempt doing my own broad head tuning this weekend. My shop normally helps me out but I figured since it is so early in the year I would better myself by at least trying to attempt doing it on my own.

I have an ok grasp on moving the arrow rest . If your broadheads are shooting different than your field points, how far is too far apart to move the rest and I should do more tuning to the bow? I figured if the groups are too far apart and you move the rest too much your center shot would be messed up.

Thanks in advance for any insight. Like I said, this is my first attempt to do it myself vs me shooting and my tech messing with the bow.

Have you shot the bow thru paper? Is it bullet or near bullet hole? If so, just follow the Mathews tuning chart. Basically. If broadheads are hitting left of field points, push the rest left. If they broadheads are hitting low, push rest up. Usually after paper tuning to a bullet hol, fixed broadheads will be within 4” at 20 yards.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OP
rkcdvm

rkcdvm

Lil-Rokslider
Have you shot the bow thru paper? Is it bullet or near bullet hole? If so, just follow the Mathews tuning chart. Basically. If broadheads are hitting left of field points, push the rest left. If they broadheads are hitting low, push rest up. Usually after paper tuning to a bullet hol, fixed broadheads will be within 4” at 20 yards.

Sorry, I should have stated that. Yes, bullet hole at 6 feet and verified at 20 yards as well.

Sorry, I should have stated that. Yes, bullet hole at 6 feet and verified at 20 yards as well.

If it is shooting bullets thru paper, then I’d just start at 10 yards, shoot the broadhead to see where it hits. If it’s close to aim point I’d step back to 20 and shoot the broadhead followed by field point. I’d repeat a couple times, then I’d make my adjustment, if any is needed.