Quartering to Shot With 7 Mag

gday5

FNG
I recently moved to MT and plan to hunt elk next Fall. I currently own a 7 mag, which I am planning to take with me for rifle season. I have never shot an elk before, but have hunted whitetail a ton.

My main question is for those with hands on experience with the 7 mag on elk. Have you taken a quartering to shot on an elk with a 7 mag? If so, what were the results and what was your setup (size and type of bullet)? Also, roughly how far was the shot?

I subscribe to the theory that meat in the freezer is better than no meat in the freezer and I’m not opposed to a quartering to shot if I can reasonably expect good terminal results if I do my part.

To be clear, I’m looking for real world experiences that I can apply in the field and to my setup, I’m not looking for theory or experience with a different caliber.

Maybe I’m not good at finding the right threads but most of the ones I have seen on the topic descend into arguments over the 7 mag being used at all. I’m really hoping that this doesn’t turn into that.

No experience with elk. But I have used my 7mm rem mag on whitetail. Blacktail. Bears. Mountain Goat. Red stag. And bull tahr and all have been great results on broadside, quarter to and quarter away shots. I have a moose hunt this coming fall and will use my 7 mag for that as well. Use a strong well built bullet and you will have good results. Obviously wait for a better shot if one will present I use 160 grain partitions. Shots have ranged from 100yds on whitetails to 450 on the bull tahr

Sent from my SM-S918U using Tapatalk

Last edited:

One-shot

Lil-Rokslider
I recently moved to MT and plan to hunt elk next Fall. I currently own a 7 mag, which I am planning to take with me for rifle season. I have never shot an elk before, but have hunted whitetail a ton.