Primers

Hi All,
I am new to reloading, and after three years, I have just finished my first 100 rounds. With inexpensive equipment (Lee Classic Loader), a pack of CCI large rifle primers, and some Ramshot Hunter, I made accurate, one-inch groups at 100 yards from my 270 Winchester. I do not shoot a lot and mostly use my rifle for hunting. It's more than accurate enough for hunting at the distances I shoot. At the moment neither Ramshot Hunter nor CCI primers are readily available. My questions are:

1. It is said that most commercial primers work, however, switching primer brands often causes a point-of-impact switch that can be significant. Without conducting a ladder test, is there any reliable way to gauge whether a particular brand will have an accuracy node that is either faster or slower than my setup? My best accuracy is about 150 feet slower than the powder's top-listed velocity.
  2. How long do primers last? I like the idea of discovering an accurate load and sticking with it. Additionally, I do not shoot too often. If I were to buy 500, or 1000 primers, I would have reliability, yet, it could take me over a decade to use them all, will they go bad being stored in the garage?
  3. If Ramshot Hunter and CCI primers work well for me is there a way to estimate another combination other than trying them?
Again, thank you in advance for any insight into this. With a busy work schedule and family commitments, I am merely trying to see if there is a shortcut to determining an accurate load, or if I am best holding off until components are available again.

rayporter

WKR
no. technically you should not mix components, and after testing keep them the same..

buy a couple thousand, you will not be sorry.

no. there are many reasons not to swap out primers. brisance, cup thickness, and cup hardness are a few.

i keep many thousands on hand, they keep a loooong time. so does powder.

5MilesBack

"DADDY"