+P Throats

WKR

WKR
Anyone have experience or own a +p throated chamber?
What was your experience? Does it effect anything besides speed?
Does it change barrel life or have an effect on accuracy?
I'm thinking of doing a +P on a 25 creedmoor and want to hear from a few people who have done it to their rifles before I go down the rabbit hole.

Ryan Avery

Admin
Staff member
Shoot2HuntU
I'm thinking of doing a +P on a 25 creedmoor and want to hear from a few people who have done it to their rifles before I go down the rabbit hole.
I've had lots of +P chamberings. 6UM, 6.5 PRC, 30 Nolser, a couple of 300 RUMs, 300 Terminator, 338 terminator, 338 EDGE

Yes, it affects barrel life, your burning more powder.

Accuracy has been great with mine except for one but I would blame the barrel not the chambering.

bmart2622

WKR
Im no expert but its my understanding that in order to get anything from the +P you need to be able to increase your powder charge, so if you're limited to factory ammo it wouldn't be worth doing

Reactions: NSI

Tullis94

WKR
Does the +P chamber have any effect if you are running factory ammo?

-J
It will make the velocity slower. You have to hand load if you +P because it takes more powder to get back up to normal pressures.

Reactions: NSI
OP
WKR

WKR

WKR
I've had lots of +P chamberings. 6UM, 6.5 PRC, 30 Nolser, a couple of 300 RUMs, 300 Terminator, 338 terminator, 338 EDGE

Yes, it affects barrel life, your burning more powder.

Accuracy has been great with mine except for one but I would blame the barrel not the chambering.
What was your average velocity gains? On the 6UM, 6.5, and 30 nosler?

Ryan Avery

Admin
Staff member
Shoot2HuntU
The 6.5 PRC added 95 FPS over the standard throat.

The 30 Nosler shot a 215 Berger at 3020 with a 22” barrel.

Too early to tell on the 6UM. I’ve only had it a week.

To maximize the +p you have to increase powder capacity which will cause more heat which will decrease barrel life.