Ochoco 2021 Archery

Walkstoomuch

Lil-Rokslider
First time poster but long time lurker. This board has been a huge resource for me over the past two years and I really appreciate all of the knowledge. This is my second season elk hunting, last year was spent in Idaho in the Salmon river unit with a mentor/fishing buddy. I’m a small business owner in central Oregon and consequently traveling far to hunt or take more than a few days off at a time aren't in the cards for me this year. I drew a Ochoco tag and am familiar with people’s criticisms of the management and decline of the area from searching past posts about the unit. However it’s close enough for me to make some kamikaze scouting trips this summer and be able to make several trips throughout the month long season. I plan on backpack hunting and trying to exploit as much of the wilderness areas as possible and some of the steeper less road accessible areas. If anyone has any information they’re willing to share I’d be very grateful. I’ve been putting in time looking at maps, taking notes and am heading out to look at the country next week. Thanks

Bigcat_hunter

Lil-Rokslider
I would go to Irish.net - in the hunting forum. It’s an Oregon hunting forum with lots of locals.

Ive hunted deer in the ochocos a lot but never elk. I know some dudes hunt right on the edge of private near some big ranches. Like most of this part of Oregon, the bulls head for private once people start driving around.

OP
W

Walkstoomuch

Lil-Rokslider
Thanks for the tip on Ifish, I was unfamiliar

I’ve heard similar things regarding private boundaries from ODFW office

Really appreciate the help!

elkocd

Lil-Rokslider
Pretty much the same as most OR units. Too many roads to make backpack/backcountry worth it. Good genetics, but the best/smartest bulls stay close to private during the rut. Doesn't mean they can't be killed on public tho ;)

mlgc20

WKR