Nuisance trapping advice

IW17

FNG
So apparently some vile critter has started chewing on my oak trees beside my creek. I've never seen beaver, but muskrat are somewhat common. But I wasn't aware muskrat chewed trees this big? My question is, am I dealing with a beaver or a muskrat? Is there any chance of a live trap working? I have no real experience trapping so a live trap is all I have at my disposal. And if it would work, what's my best bait and trap placement. I can take pictures of my yard, the creek and my pond if that's necessary as well.

20230119_131414.jpg20230119_131422.jpg20230119_131425.jpg

NRA4LIFE

WKR
I don't think it's a beaver, there would be a lot more gnawed off I would think. And someone correct me, but usually they go after softer wood and smaller trees. But yes, it's possible to live trap them, that's all we can do here in WA as leg holds and connibears are not legal.

Looks like beaver chews to me. I've never seen a beaver get live-trapped, but it may be possible. IME, they are fairly easy to snare on their bank slides. If you have a local trapping supply store they should be able to set you up. If not, give the Snare Shop a call and they will fix you up with all the equipment and training necessary to catch the beavers.

https://www.snareshop.com/

EDIT: beaver slides are very easy to spot along the creek bank. Typically about a foot wide and worn down into the soft dirt. You can't miss them. A large beaver will leave deep webbed tracks in the mud as well.

OP
IW17

IW17

FNG
I don't think it's a beaver, there would be a lot more gnawed off I would think. And someone correct me, but usually they go after softer wood and smaller trees. But yes, it's possible to live trap them, that's all we can do here in WA as leg holds and connibears are not legal.
Good to hear. Any idea on a good bait?