My first elk hunt

How did you know you were getting a divorce in fall of 2022? Thats predicting the future right there! LOL

My advice is stay far away from NW Montana. Only wolves , lions , bears and cody carr up there.
Region 2 isn’t NW

OP
goetzc

goetzc

FNG
Congrats on the tag. I've hunted MT several times in the general units so I have some experience. I'm a cyber scouting nut as I live in NC and don't have the luxury of putting boots on the ground for my scouting.
1. First thing I learned is it's way steeper than it looks on aerial photos and even topos. Thus, be in the best shape that you possibly can be.
2. When solo, I will not hunt further than 2 miles from the truck but I'm old. Packing elk quarters is hard-add in blowdown, thick timber, steep slopes and grizzly bears and it can be hell on earth.
3. Stay mobile and hunt from the truck the first few days.
4. When you find elk, slow down. Elk hunting is not a race.
5. Be bear aware. Do not do cold calling setups. Follow USFS rules for food and camp security. I limit traveling in the dark. If you kill an elk, move the meat away from the carcass as soon as possible.

There's much more I could add but I don't want to give away some of my secrets so hit me with a PM and I'll share a bit more.
Thanks man! That's all great advice - I've driven through Montana a few times but never with the idea of packing out an elk at the time... coming from MN I'm certain it'll take some time to adjust to the elevation physically and mentally... I'm planning for that.
I'm not looking for any secrets as I do want to be able to say this hunt is DIY as are all my other hunts but I will definitely send you a PM to discuss any other suggestions as I enjoy the planning as much as the hunt. :)

Thanks for the offer Joe - I will research your site and other postings and be in touch.

I did mistakenly say I had a "cow tag" in my original post but was corrected so I fixed my blunder to avoid further confusion.