My first elk hunt

goetzc

FNG
Well I finally did it - I put in for and drew my general tag and permit for Montana archery elk 2022.

I've been wanting to go for a few years now but couldn't for one reason or another so I bought points instead.
  • Initially I didn't know any guys to go elk hunting with and my wife was not a fan of me going alone in 2019.
  • Covid derailed my 2020 season.
  • 2021 I drew(and filled) my Wisconsin bear tag which fell right in prime archery elk season.
  • And then in the fall of 2021 life threw me a curveball I didn't see coming - I'm now in the midst of a divorce and so my only reason to not go solo is quite literally gone. :)

I am an avid outdoorsman who is totally comfortable solo in the back country. I've been hunting whitetail for 10 years with rifle/bow and enjoy camping every month of the year in Minnesota and Wisconsin. Usually in the Boundary Waters but also dispersed on National Forest land. I'm very bear aware and practice bear safe camping methods. I have never camped in Grizzly country and so I will be carrying bear spray and my Sig P320 9mm with 147g +P underwood hard cast - just in case. My biggest concern - if I'm successful in getting an elk down - is how best to butcher it while keeping lookout for a Grizzly trying to steal my meat. Any tips from other's who have done this would be appreciated. I've read about fires, lights, glow sticks, peeing around the meat left to hang etc... but there must be other ways people avoid the apex predators stealing their meat.