Muzzleloader shot but barely

Jld475

FNG
I am brand new to muzzleloading and have a brand new CVA Wolf V2 .50 caliber muzzleloader. I am shooting 100 grains of pyrodex pellets, Hornady Great Plains 385 grain bullets, and Winchester 777 209 primers.

I shot 6 times yesterday and cleaned thoroughly between each shot. 2 shots were a delayed fire, and during 2 shots the bullet barely made it out of the barrel. In fact, 1 didn’t make it to the target 13 yards away and the other bounced off. I also noticed a weird flash during the bad shots and the barrel was incredibly dirty after each shot. There seemed to be a lot of unburned powder left in the barrel.

What am I doing wrong? Any help is appreciated.

Westhunt

FNG
Make sure you are pushing the bullet down all the way, don't be afraid to pack it down tight. You could also have a loose breech plug and the gases are escaping there.

Sent from my SM-G991U using Tapatalk

houser52

FNG
I am brand new to muzzleloading and have a brand new CVA Wolf V2 .50 caliber muzzleloader. I am shooting 100 grains of pyrodex pellets, Hornady Great Plains 385 grain bullets, and Winchester 777 209 primers.

I shot 6 times yesterday and cleaned thoroughly between each shot. 2 shots were a delayed fire, and during 2 shots the bullet barely made it out of the barrel. In fact, 1 didn’t make it to the target 13 yards away and the other bounced off. I also noticed a weird flash during the bad shots and the barrel was incredibly dirty after each shot. There seemed to be a lot of unburned powder left in the barrel.

What am I doing wrong? Any help is appreciated.
I also shot a new Wolf 50 cal. yesterday. I was using 100 gr of loose Triple 7 powder, Winchester 209 primers, 240 gr. XTP and crush rib sabots.
I swabbed the bore, wet patch- dry patch, after each shot.
During shooting I didn’t have any problem at all with firing and velocity was very consistent with an average of 6 shots at 1785 fps.