Montana bison processing

So I drew a bison tag for the FP Rez here in Montana this year and I’m really stressing about who to have process it. I do all of my own game meat but I don’t think this is something I want to take on. I have had some bad experiences like most of us have with meat processors. Does anybody have any suggestions? For the cost of the tag and everything involved I want it done right. Any help would be much appreciated.

Flatgo

Lil-Rokslider
i'd do it my self should be easier than deer and elk because the fat is good on a buffalo and you don't have to trim as much. I'd hate to have a processor screw a buffalo up. you don't get a buffalo very often.

MarlinMark

Lil-Rokslider
Do you know anyone that is a cutter or used to cut?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

It’s a big undertaking. I’ve done two. If you are localish, I would hang it and process it over a week or so yourself. If really wanting a processor, I’d check ahead with them and get pricing. It can get pricey quick.

rmrwade

FNG
should cost around a 1.00 a pound hanging weight. bison should yeild about 55 percent of that for meat. even if its cold you only have about 6hr max to remove the hide before you can get some souring. put it on a pallet in the back of a truck bed. helps with air flow. Ive cut up many of them. Just basic stuff. if you want it done "right", get a plant to do it and pay the money. ellery hoch in wolf point used to cut up buff for the tribe. Not sure he is doing meat any more but you can look up hochs meat processing to find out.
I dont know where you are but if you are taking that thing very far off the highline up there, you`d be wise to skin it and get it on a pallet so it can cool. I brained tanned buffalo for over 20 yrs and bought one every year until they got too pricey. you can absolutely cut this yourself just keep it simple.

Rogue Bay

WKR