Montana 340 Doe Tag

jakeaba

FNG
Hey all,

Been putting lots of miles driving around unit 340 looking for a doe. Haven’t seen a single deer through 300 miles of driving and prob 15 miles of hiking.

I started up around 7-8k mark but I’m wondering how much this snow has affected their whereabouts.

This is my first year hunting and I’ve done tons and tons of YouTube and forum research. I’m not looking for anyones honey hole, but I am finding it hard to believe I can’t find a single deer. Anyone have any tips that I can add to the knowledge bank on how a plunge in temps and snow accumulation can affect things?

I tried calling the biologist but she’s out hunting this week. I really feel like I have exhausted all podcast, YouTube, forum and any other sites I can gain info from and am stumped. I did an archery hunt in Washington in September and was seeing deer every day so I thought I was doing well. Getting my ass kicked over here though!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Welcome to hunting! That's how it goes sometimes! Does are not terribly sneaky critters for the most part. In the early morning and last couple hours of the day they are usually out in the wide open. When I'm trying to fill a B tag I'm usually road hunting cruising low elevation open country early and late, and spend the middle of the day walking transitional areas.

Good luck!

Sent from my SM-G998U1 using Tapatalk

Dropping temps and snow should make the deer spend a little more time out in the open feeding. I would be at a good vantage point in the morning and glass the open areas until 9-10 a.m.

If you don't see anything, then start looking for tracks. Find fresh ones and then hunt at that elevation. You could also try following a set of tracks, even if they are a day or two old and see where they go. Deer tend to move around within the same area, so following some slightly old tracks might bring you to a newer set within a mile or so.