Mods Please Delete

So my Omega recently crapped out, and I need a new watch, but looking to switch over to something with more usefulness

Looking for something that is not only good for tracking general activity (heart rate, sleeping, distance on runs, etc), but also something that will tell me altitude and is generally useful on backcountry hunts.

What should I look at?

northernalpine

Lil-Rokslider
I’ve used a few different flavors heavily over the years and offer this same perspective to friends:

Garmin has the best overall ecosystem compatibility / support but the worst overall battery life.

Suunto has the best battery life by a wide margin but the ecosystem compatibility is limited compared to Garmin.

The Garmin Phoenix series is pretty legit, but I had to charge the Phoenix 7 I had every 4ish days.

I’ve been using a Suunto 9 Peak for about 2 years now for HR tracking during workouts/running, plotting/tracking routes, and backup GPS during hunts. It’ll go 10-12 days between charges using it with active GPS all day and about 18-20 days if I just use it for daily workouts.

I’m a sucker for low maintenance things, but everyone has different needs.

1708445738721.jpeg

I’m using the Garmin instinct 2 tactical Solar. My old one (non-solar) crapped out after four years and would hold about a five to seven day charge. The solar at about 60% charge is a month. Has altimeter and all kinds of stuff on it I forget about. Highly recommend.
61652ff7897cd38c8f583e6735bf253d.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

dlee56

WKR
I’ve been rocking a Garmin Instinct Solar (1st gen) for 2-3 years now and it’s been awesome. Depending on what features you have on the battery life can be from a week out to 1.5-2 months. But it charges in about an hour so I don’t mind having a few extra features running all the time.

TJfromTX

FNG