Low price backpacking tent

Hi there everyone,

I am just getting started and am beginning to look at backpacking tents but don’t know where to start. I splurged and spent money on the exo 4800 pack, but am looking for a tent that will be good for myself and my boyfriend and possibly his father for a elk hunting trip. What would you guys recommend. I’d love to stay under the $200 range. I am military if that makes a difference on if some brands offer good discounts that offset the costs slightly. I definitely want to make it something that wouldn’t be too heavy to haul into the woods on my bf’s back as he will probably be hauling for me! Really looking for best value at that price point and not as worried about getting the best available as I’m just starting out with him and am not sure if this will become an every year trip or a one time adventure.

Thanks in advance!

3 person backpacking tents that can actually fit 3 people are a tough one. Generally speaking, unless you really like being packed in, for 3 people you'd probably be looking at a 4 person tent. If you're comfortable with a floorless shelter, and can stretch that budget a little, there are tipi manufactures that would fit well for your needs, right now luxe has a 6 person tipi on sale for $295. A traditional backpacking tent that can fit 3 for sub $200 is definitely going to be tough to find.

Rokwiia

WKR
As a general rule, I've always doubled the tent manufacturer's number but I prefer more rather than less space. Not crazy feeling like I'm lying in a nylon coffin.

If you put your equipment in the vestibule, that adds usable space inside the tent but may create some difficulty getting in and out of the tent during the night to pee.

You can get more space for a reduced price but if that involves a new tent, plan on it being heavier. Generally, you can't get quality, lightweight, and inexpensive. You have to pick the two you can live with.