Looking to purchase Matthews Z7 .... Any thoughts good , bad , run ....?

JNDEER

WKR
when it came out, it ranked top 3 for me personally when I purchased a new bow that year. It fit me well. have not tested anything newer.

bare bows I have seen go from $500-$700

PMcGee

WKR
I've had mine since they first came out and I have no complaints.

boom

WKR
brace yourself.

i sold mine for $450, bare bow. peep sight only.

you know how archery is a mind game? you have to be confident in your equipment. me and my Z7 got off on the wrong foot right away. the bow was strung up incorrectly right from the start. cable ran thru the cable guard on the outside roller. WRONG! i was a newb, so didnt know. i nicknamed my bow, "drunken sparrow" because that was how the broadhead arrows flew. i kid you not. i could shoot a broadhead around a corner. i kinda gave up, loaded it up with mech heads and hunted in texas. i was sitting in the treestand just staring at the bow..wondering why one roller in the guard was black, the other was red. it clicked!! the mofo's messed up!! it had already tore up one set of cables..and the bow shop installing the new set, just followed the old pattern and set it up wrong again. thank goodness i took a picture before. i sent it to Mathews. in about 3 days, some VP calls me talks me down off the cliff. he laughed when i told him i almost thru the bow into a pond. only thing that saved the bow from a watery grave? the Spot hogg sight..i loved that sight!!

anyways, i got plumbed up. bow shot great. i got a FREE cap from mathews and a new set of strings..WHOOPEE!!

what i didnt like about the bow? the cam is kinda aggressive. it wants to take off and rip the arrow forward if you relax any. my shoulder just couldnt handle it. coupled with our early love/hate relationship..i sold it CHEAP on archery talk..and never went back to Mathews.