Lesson #2 from a 56 year old self taught DIY'r - take care of the feet! If you are new to elk hunting, read this!!

ELKhunter60

Lil-Rokslider
I live in Michigan and began doing some DIY elk hunts about 25 years ago. Back then there was not as much information available at your fingertips about hunting out west - but I read magazines, watched videos and did what I could to learn. Starting out my main focuses was on calls, broadheads and elk decoys. I come from humble beginnings and had to watch my nickels - especially when I was raising kids so boots were always something I knew I needed, but bought 1/2 based on what was on sale and 1/2 on what felt good when I tried it on. For the first 10 years of my elk hunting adventures I ALWAYS got blisters and even lost a few toe nails. We used to joke that we were going to drill a hole in our toenails and make a necklace out of them only to be worn in at elk camp.......:)
I finally began to realize just how important taking care of your feet are when I found myself ending a trip 1 day early due to my feet hurting so bad. It was time to get this figured out!

When I got home I ended up spending a lot of time researching boots, trying various ones on, and figuring out I needed wide boots a 1/2 size bigger than I had been getting. I bought some good boots in early spring and started breaking them in slowly at first and then wore them more and more until they were somewhat broke in. I also read about the importance of sock liners. Sock lines are said to help with blisters so I bought 3 pair.

The next elk season I went in deep and steep for a solid week. I was lucky enough to harvest a 6x6 bull that year and put 50 heavy miles on that week. My feet were a little soar after that week but no blisters!!! I've kept using the same boots and sock liners ever since and have not gotten one blister or lost one toe nail.