Lemhi, Idaho - antlerless within 1 mile of agricultural land

Turned 40 in mid-July and decided my mid-life crisis would be throwing caution to the wind and trying to get a cow elk before Labor Day.
Already an onx member, so I bought the elk101 online course, watched all of Randy's e-scouting vids and even contacted wescout4u, but they were fully booked.
Renting a truck the week of August 24th and driving from Chicago to Idaho with a friend who is way better at camping than me (as a whitetail archery hunter, backpacking in IL isn't really needed). Bringing a .308 as its my first time going after elk and while I love my Hoyt, I don't want to it make it harder than it already is.
Special season rules means I can only take a cow a mile from private land (on 51, it also can't be within national forest).
Robby Denning recommended I reach out to Idaho DFG to ask if any landowners had complained about cows (btw - solid move and I definitely plan on using his services in the coming years based on this simple gesture), which I did, but a young lady stated that she did/could not provide that info.

Reaching out to see if anyone familiar with that area could provide a helpful tip or two.
Im very realistic and realize the odds are against me, but again; mid-life crisis dictates rash moves...

thank you in advance!
Nando

ps - sorry for the wall of text

KHNC

WKR
Ton of elk on private near Leadore. When i was there two years ago i saw plenty of people road hunting looking for cows mid September. Not sure if you will have a lot of competition end of august tho.

OP
S
@KHNC DUDE, thank you so much!
Leadore was identified as a potential base, but this is super helpful - really appreciate it.

mwebs

WKR