Kryptek Koldo or Outdoor Research Maximus or?

UPnorth

FNG
I was out fishing recently and found that my trusty Marmot hardshell has reached the end of its life (it made it about 10 yrs, so I can't really complain). The seam taping at the base of hood is de-laminating and since I'm not a huge fan of water running down the back of my neck, I'm in the market for a replacement. I used my marmot for anything and everything, from summer backpacking to ice fishing to hunting.

The Kryptek Koldo has caught my attention. I briefly checked one out at Cabela's and liked the quieter fabric and elbow reinforcements. I wasn't overly impressed with the hood, but I didn't play with it too much. In the meantime, I have found OR's top of the line Gore-tex Pro Shell jacket, the Maximus, on sale for roughly the same price as the Koldo. I don't have anywhere to get my hands on it, but I feel pretty good about the OR brand and proven Gore-tex technology. I have no personal experience with Pro Shell as my Marmot was constructed with Membrain. I would expect the Pro Shell (with a heavy duty nylon face fabric) to be noisy, but it should be a good performer and a bit lighter than the Koldo.

I would be very interested to hear opinions on the Koldo from anyone who has put it through its paces and from Pro Shell users. What would you choose? Do you think I'm overlooking any other obvious choices in this price range? Thanks!

luke moffat

Super Moderator
I have used a pile of rain jackets up here in Alaska, from 3 layer $500 pro shells, Kuiu Chugach, a model from Sitka can't recall, and numerous mountaineering jackets, I am going on a 6 day black bear hunt in raining Prince William sound (leaving on Monday) and will be bringing my Koldo rain jacket along. Sure not the lightest on the market, but its built hell for stout and is impressive how dry it kept me in Prince of Wales Island last fall hunting deer down there.