Hunting - Powder Recommendation

SPARKY418

FNG
Howdy,
I’m new to the reloading world and looking for some powder brand and option recommendations. I have a Seekins 300 win mag, Barnes TTSX bullets and some Hornady ELD-X, some new Nosler and Hornady brass and a mix of once fired, mag primers - enough for about 500rds. I’ve read a little that I need to watch out for temperature as some brands do better than others when temps fluctuate…
I hunt Elk, and Muley out west and Whitetail in my home state of MN.

And of course the task of trying to find any in stock somewhere.

Thanks!
Jason

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Since your in MN, Scheels usually has good supplies of powder and components. For load data just google "hornady load data" or "barnes load data" and it should be easy to find some recipes for your 300 mag. Hornady's mobile app is pretty decent as well and is cheap, especially if you have multiple calibers to reload. Each cartridge is like $1 to add.

Duh

WKR
My Seekins likes the 212 eldx, H1000 or h4831 SC. I use Peterson long brass too. I’ve had good luck with both powders hunting in North Dakota, South Dakota, Nevada, and Idaho. Temp ranges from -20’s to 80 degrees.

I have a near max load of h1000 that’ll run into some pressure signs in humid hot temps but it’s usually fine during September into April.

OP
S

SPARKY418

FNG
Since your in MN, Scheels usually has good supplies of powder and components. For load data just google "hornady load data" or "barnes load data" and it should be easy to find some recipes for your 300 mag. Hornady's mobile app is pretty decent as well and is cheap, especially if you have multiple calibers to reload. Each cartridge is like $1 to add.

Thank you!

MThuntr

WKR
some new Nosler and Hornady brass and a mix of once fired
Don't mix components. Pick one brand of brass (preferably of the same lot) and stick with them.