High Cascades

loordan

FNG
Hello everyone I am new to the forum. I’m located in the PNW near Eugene Oregon. I was wondering if any of you have hunted in the high cascades in the past few years. If my plans fall through this year and I don’t draw over east I would like to have a backup plan and spend considerable time in the high country. I’ve heard deer hunting in the cascades is tough but I am up for a challenge. I was hopeing to get some good intel from this forum , I am not looking for someone’s honey holes , but some good strategy/advice. I am a young man in my mid 20’s and a fairly green hunter. Any feedback is greatly appreciated, Thank you.

Pdzoller

WKR

Welcome.
Read through the Blacktail forum. Should be all the information you are looking for in there. I’m no expert but I do see a lot of bucks up there. Learn what Ceanothus looks like. You will need good boots and decent optics because you are going to be glassing until you feel like your eyes are bleeding. Glass burns, edges of high meadows, ridges and plan on packing something comfortable to sit on.

Strange things happen in the Cascades so make sure to have your inreach or something similar and bring a backup navigation system (map, compass…)

Get your fall bear tag while you’re at it. The Cascades are crawling with them.

Good luck

IDVortex

WKR
I'm trying to convince my brother to do a high Cascade deer hunt this fall, but with a general tag. Goal is going to be getting up high and glassing. Nice thing is with that area is the PCT, down side is the PCT tho. Just find some ridges/valleys up high and hunt. And be willing to hump ridges each day.

OP
L

loordan

FNG

Welcome.