Help with the maths

mfolch

WKR
I’ve been comparing packs and pockets, and I’ve noticed some interesting mathematics, figures that don’t add up.

Take, for instance, the dimensions of Stone Glacier’s camp pocket. The website says they’re ‘6" x 9" x 3.5" (Height x Width x Depth)’

But then they say the volume is: ‘322 Cubic Inches’

Now, it’s been 20 years since I studied math, but last I checked, volume is Height x Width x Depth, which in this case is 189c”. So, what am I missing? Where did the extra 133” come from?

Probably the answer is obvious...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

i think you and i went to the same school cause that is the way i remember it also.
maybe it's the "new" math.
i'm curious also

bpctcb

WKR
I hear you on the math stuff. But our figuring is for rectangles made out of hard sided material, not Cordura.
I suspect they stuff their packs/pockets full of something (beans?) then measure the volume of the beans. Not sure here; just guessing because I’ve heard of the Kifaru guys using beans to measure pack volume.

BP

pods8 (Rugged Stitching)

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
I hear you on the math stuff. But our figuring is for rectangles made out of hard sided material, not Cordura.

This. You might make a pack with rectangular dimensions but when stuffed it will round out and a circular shape of the same perimeter as a rectangular one is going to have more area in it.

I suspect they stuff their packs/pockets full of something (beans?) then measure the volume of the beans. Not sure here; just guessing because I’ve heard of the Kifaru guys using beans to measure pack volume.

BP

Makes sense as a way to measure volume, however a unless the pack is made out of latex a 40% increase in volume is not possible, so one of their measurements is wrong. If you make a vessel out of rectangular cross sections there is no way no matter how you sew it that you can increase the size by deforming it other than the material stretching.