Hearing protection for kids

TyT10

FNG
Looking for some feedback on hearing protection for kids. Youth season is right around the corner for us here in MO. All of my stands are setup for bow hunting and close shots. I want my kids to be able to here grunts and fighting and all the sounds, but also be ready when the time comes to shoot with confidence. I have read that there are plugs that can help you hear ambient sound, but blocks out anything loud. Is this real or fake news? Please let me know your thoughts. If it does work what companies/models work best. Thank you.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Bluefish

WKR
First, I used to work in the hearing healthcare industry in new product development with someone who worked with niosh on the new impulse noise standard that got shelved. I researched as much as I could, but honestly there was not that much research (2013-14). In the end, the best protection is electronic muffs over a solid or foam plug. Btw I wear electronic plugs for hunting and this year will be hunting suppressed subsonic with no protection. Imho the best thing is buy a suppressor. If that’s not an option, then electronic muffs.

To hear normally and then block loud impulse noise is the holy grail of hearing protection. With todays technology the best option is something electronic. Either plugs or muffs. Muffs are a lot cheaper, in ear electronic runs a lot more.
passive protection (ie not electronic) that is level dependent is marginal at best. The 3m system which they lost a huge lawsuit, worked better than all the other stuff we tested. Imho their problem was they used crappy earplugs which didn’t seal well making the whole system marginal.