Had a negligent discharge tonight. Learn from me.

woods89

WKR
I try really hard, but like all of us probably I get lazy too sometimes. It's good to hear about these as it keeps me sharp.

Glad you are ok.

Humor doesn’t trivialize danger or a brush with death. I was an EMT for six years and got very very familiar with death. When death rears his head you can quake in your boots while it’s happening. But later if you live, it’s best for your sanity if you can laugh.

Lou Sid

FNG
It is a nice short range option with open sights. Shot my first deer with one.
I carry a lever action as a backup but in certain conditions it becomes my primary. When hunting all week in a cloud with < 100 ft if visibility or a coastal jungle it’s simply the right tool and is much better than my scoped .270 Weatherby.

I just cycle until empty and dig around in the dark until I’ve retrieved all the cartridges. A headlamp helps!

TheGDog

WKR
Humor doesn’t trivialize danger or a brush with death. I was an EMT for six years and got very very familiar with death. When death rears his head you can quake in your boots while it’s happening. But later if you live, it’s best for your sanity if you can laugh.
Coming from a dirtbike background... the bad ones are three "OH SHIT!" 's. Like if you launch off something wrong and those watching you have time to say "Oh shit, Oh Shit, OH SHIT!!!" three times?... yepp... it's gonna be a bad one. ;)

Woodrow F Call

Lil-Rokslider
My dad uses an old 30-30. I think he just likes to keep it old school and use his original gun. I think one of the main takeaways here too is that folks should upgrade to a different gun like any bolt action style. It's more safe, more powerful, more accurate, literally all around better.

I think this is the wrong way to think about things. All firearms are dangerous. As the owner/user, it is up to you to learn how to properly handle whatever firearm you have. Relying on the mechanical safety devices is asking for trouble.