glad I'm not a newbie elk hunter

njdoxie

WKR
As I see all these post from newbies looking for help trying to decide on a state, unit, weapon, equipment, tactics....I'm so, so glad I'm settled on state (CO), unit (sw CO), weapon (2nd rifle otc), tactics (solo, backpack, diy, spot and stalk), the choices are just overwhelming if u aren't brought along by a veteran hunter. I've done it long enough that, that I know exactly how and where I like to elk hunt, I've got all the equipment for a solo, diy, backpack hunt, basically I have every last detail dialed in, which feels great. I've been hunting the same spot for the last few years and I love knowing it well, helps me be more successful than jumping around, I never want to hunt elk anywhere else. I'm not saying I'm a great hunter, I'm not, but I've always had shot opportunities, ignoring my first years. And when I look back 25 years...whew I've come a long way, I would cry if I was looking at that learning curve now, but then again, when I started out, I didn't have to know everything NOW. Anyone else feel that way?

Last edited:
No, not even close. I enjoy the learning experiences and all new experiences that accompany developing new skills. I carry a certain pride knowing that no one held my hand and made it easy on me, everything was learned and developed on my own.

Everyone started at square one.

AdamW

WKR
I'm glad that there are places like Rokslide where guys with lots of experience offer up advice and tips without judgement. :D

Jerry P

FNG
Yes Sir. The Western game is definitely a lot different from the Deer hunting that I grew up doing on the East Coast. It's a fun learning process though.