First hunt after knee replacement

MLGrace

Lil-Rokslider
I’m a disabled vet but I’m in decent shape and hit the gym multiple times per week. I also had a full knee replacement in 2022. I am headed over to AZ unit 27 for a mule deer hunt in November and it is tough country, steep burn scars with tons of deadfall. This will be my first big multi day hunt since the replacement. I live in the eastern AZ mountains and am out in them several days per week but I’m still a bit concerned about redamaging my knee. Both my sons will be there as well as another vet friend. I’m considering hunting basically from unburned areas overlooking burn scars, glassing, and then moving into a shooting position. Otherwise I could just sit in high deer density areas and wait one out. Y’all have any advice for a guy with a knee replacement?

Ross

Super Moderator
Staff member
I’m 5 months full knee replacement. Other than a continuing IT band issue and some swelling still I have clearance for full steam ahead. Any residual issues? Anything limiting you ? What did your surgeon say? Mine is an elk hunter.

OP
MLGrace

MLGrace

Lil-Rokslider
No I’m not on any limitations. I shed hunt and hike a lot. Just the steeps and the burned logs seem to be pretty dangerous. The surgeon said I’m a poster boy for recovery. I’m religious about working out. But it does get sore at times and I worry about damaging it.

I’d be seeking professional medical opinions IF I were in your shoes. Dr who performed surgery and physical therapists.

Last thing you want is to redamage or jack yourself up and require an EVAC in the middle of nowhere.

Yes, a Marine is telling you to take it ez.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Ross

Super Moderator
Staff member