Elk pot roast - what is your experience with the final product?

I am new to the elk game, having killed my first elk last month. This weekend, I am going to brown off an elk roast in a heavy pot, and then I'll put it in the oven at around 275 for as many hours as is needed to fall apart. I'm a good cook, so I'm not particularly concerned with how to throw together the general ingredients and flavors. I will probably do the Mississippi pot roast recipe.

What I am curious about is how moist the finished product will be. Typically, something like a beef chuck roast has enough marbled fat, collagen, and connective tissue to melt during the cooking process and provide a finished product that has that rich sort of consistency and mouthfeel that is typically associated with a good pot roast.

In this case, I will be using a 3-4 lb elk roast that I have meticulously trimmed so as to be essentially pure meat. What is your experience with the final product when making a venison pot roast from a lean cut of meat? I know I can get it to fall apart, but can it come across as reasonably moist and rich, at least somewhat similar to a beef pot roast?

Firehawk

WKR
My experience is that I need to use olive oil, butter, bacon or something like that to keep them moist. If your roast still has the bone and maybe some connective tissues, that seems to add to flavor and moisture in the roast from my experience. But the do run dry, so added moisture has been the key for me. Here is a photo of a shank roast I did off my big bull this fall. It was really good.IMG_7942.jpg

2five7

WKR
We put ours in the crock pot, with a couple cans of Cream of Mushroom, and of course veggies. The soup turns into a delicious gravy, and helps keep everything moist during cooking. Just remember not to overcook, Elk cooks much faster than Beef.

OP
S