Dry Ice Precaution/Is it worth it?

stank.243

Lil-Rokslider
Looking at packing my RTIC cooler with wet ice and then having 20 lbs of dry ice along with it to help elongate the wet ice life. This is for a 7-10 day hunt, but to get more ice would be an hour drive so I'd prefer not to have to do that. Any tips or precautions to take doing this? I have never used dry ice before, but have done some reading online. Sounds like wrap it in newspaper, place it on top (for my purposes), and vent (I assume opening a drain plug?) the cooler so I don't create a 140L dry ice bomb. Seems simple enough?

However the need to vent it, in my mind, seems counterintuitive though as that will be allowing cold air to escape consistently vs a good sealed cooler with wet ice. Am I wrong? Is it even worth trying dry ice?

To me the amount of dry ice you'd need to buy to last 10 days isn't worth it.

Prechill your cooler and make your own ice using salt water or fill your cooler with standard ice and then put ice cream rock salt all over it and you'll be good to go (this will reduce the freezing point and help ice last much longer). If possible, try to keep cooler of the hot ground a little and if you can get a little airflow underneath, you'll be golden. Keep the lid closed & the plug in because that water will help keep ice longer, if you keep the cooler drained air will then get in between ice & it will melt much faster. Lastly the lightest color cooler the better because you want to reflect sunlight & not absorb it.

Not bashing your cooler because i to own a RTIC but they don't perform near as well as others. Over the years we have accidently performed alot of tests of the higher end coolers full of ice parked at trailheads.

This is what I do and consistently works for 7+ days (Cabelas Polar Cap and RTIC coolers):

1) Prechill my coolers. Usually this is get them out of our hot garage and bring them into the house where it's 30+ degrees cooler during the early seasons.