Choosing where to live in Alaska

cardiac5

Lil-Rokslider
My wife has been sending houses to me daily for the past few weeks. She really wants to get out of the Midwest. We stayed with a rokslider in Eagle River a few summers back while working a contract at Mat-Su Regional Medical Center. We both work in healthcare so looking for housing closer to Anchorage. Currently live in the country on gravel with land and we don’t want a neighborhood (Prefer 2-3 acres) but I’m okay with it if I get to live there. We’ve looked at Wasilla to get more for our money but I’m thinking we need to be more Chugiak/Eagle River. I think it’s more a sweet spot between everything. Does anyone here live near Wasilla and commute to Anchorage and what everyone’s opinion on location? Do you commute and wish you were closer or is it not such a big deal? Lastly is there any benefit of buying in the winter time( like more a buyers market)? I’m not good at wording question so sorry about that. Thanks Kanton.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Krieg Hetzen

Lil-Rokslider
I think you will be hard pressed to find 2-3 acres of land in Eagle River or Chugiak that isn't part of a neighborhood. I don't know your budget or housing criteria but that pretty steep ask for that area. The commute sucks, I've done it on one off occasions (training in Anchorage or working a different facility). For most people I know who have done the commute, they try to get away from it and Anchorage as soon as possible. As for the valley (Palmer/Wasilla) it's still a bit difficult to find 2+ outside of a neighborhood without getting quite a bit from the city center. If you are going to work in Anchorage you'll likely need to compromise on something. To sum it up, the commute sucks (mainly because of the people) and as far as I know there isn't a primetime buying season for houses.

Marbles

WKR
Classified Approved
The Valley is not always cheaper then Anchorage anymore.